Page 888 - Rescue Range

30th Mar 2017, 6:00 AM in Sonic Rainboom
<<First Latest>>
Rescue Range
Average Rating: 5 (1 votes)
<<First Latest>>

Author Notes:

Newbiespud 30th Mar 2017, 6:00 AM edit delete
...Are those five Derpys in panel 2?

Were all the conspicuous absences of her as a background character in season 3 and the first part of season 4 actually just her going back in time and appearing extra times in the previous seasons?

(It might be late and I might be very tired as I write this.)

Notice: Guest comic submissions are open! Guidelines here. Deadline: January 27th, 2023.



Rastaba 30th Mar 2017, 6:30 AM edit delete reply
No, only one Derpy's eyes are slightly crossed, the one in the top row, as is her adorable signature look. The rest are imposter changelings that mimicked the least suspicious pony in a quest to infiltrate equestria unnoticed! After all, who'd ever suspect her? It's the perfect disguise! Until they realized there were multiple versions of her at the same spot, and they couldn't tell who was a changeling of each other or the original.
DoubleXXCross 30th Mar 2017, 9:41 AM edit delete reply
Remember, at one point, she wasn't a character and didn't have her eyes crossed by default. It was only by Season Two that they made it permanent.

I kinda loathe it...
Winged Cat 30th Mar 2017, 4:46 PM edit delete reply
Winged Cat
Don't you just hate it when you spy so hard you forget who you were spying for?
ANW 30th Mar 2017, 6:43 AM edit delete reply
Rainbow's first true long shot.
You guys ever had to pull one of these before?
Lyman 30th Mar 2017, 8:07 AM edit delete reply
I've never personally pulled this sort of thing off, but I had a player that did once. We were playing FFG's Edge of the Empire (Star Wars, but with a focus on "wretched hive[s] of scum and villainy"), and I was running an adventure that was half Hunger Games, half, well, Star Wars. Long story short, the party was split and a pair of PCs were out in an evil swamp trying to make it to their transport. Somehow, one of the PCs ended up on the bad end of an Acklay (which, if you know don't know what an Acklay is, is basically ALL THE ENDS). He was running away and, while in full view of the creature, decided to roll to HIDE. FROM THE ANGRY MONSTER. RIGHT BEHIND HIM. A sane (read: smart) GM, would have simply told him it was an impossibility, but I was not a sane GM.

A side note about FFG's Star Wars RPGs: because it's a system that uses "positive" and "negative" dice, it is always possible that a task, no matter how hard, can be achieved if a character is simultaneously very skilled and ungodly lucky.

So I give him a bunch of negative dice. If memory serves (and it probably does not), I gave him the same amount you'd give someone trying to blow up the Death Star. The only benefits he had to the roll were the fog, and the spending of one Destiny Point. He takes this fistfull of dice, shakes it up, and




And I'm just left there, flabbergasted, trying to figure out how on earth this good-for-nothing nerf-herder had managed to elude a giant angry crab-monster right behind him.
Greenhornet 30th Mar 2017, 11:02 AM edit delete reply
"An old satellite's orbit's has been decaying for some time and by AN AMAZEING CO-INCIDENCE, JUST HAPPENS to fall on the Acklay. By the way, I hate you so much"
Draxynnic 31st Mar 2017, 6:21 AM edit delete reply
"You turn a corner around a bush, spot a small sinkhole, and dive down it. The Acklay doesn't notice and thunders on past. By the way, I hate you."
BrenTenkage 30th Mar 2017, 10:40 AM edit delete reply
I pulled out a long shot once, it was during a campaign in the Darksun setting, and my wizard was in the back near some black sand in a canyon while the party dealt with a tribe of pissed off kobolds on the other side. Well second round starts and a giant mantis comes out of the sand on the other side. Well thinking quickly I said, 'I pull out my rations and offer it to the mantis'

The GM blinked a bit and looked at his notes and looked at me like ,"WTF really...well your funeral" and said, "Roll Handle Animal" and I had thankfully put 1 point in given I had a familar so I could do this

he rolled a dice I rolled one and hit a natural 20, and his eyes widened in shock and said, "I rolled its will to counter" and then lifted the screen up, it was a natural 1.

So what happened was that it was so happy to be offered food it let me ride on its back, so we had a mantis tear up those kobolds...granted once they were dead it turned on the party as it was still hungry but still my hail mary play saved us a lot of agrivation (more so since our Thri-Kreen warrior had a few unlucky hits on him so he was worn out in the end)

Registered 30th Mar 2017, 6:41 PM edit delete reply
So we are currently running a MLP game. Standard 3.5/Pathfinder, some extra 3rd party books and stuff, but otherwise fairly normal. This story isn't part of that. It's part of my characters backstory.

In the story, the party comes from different Equestrias, all connected through the crystal mirrors. These are not only widely different (from Everglow-esque over Canterlot High to the comics), but were also desynchronized when it came to time. My characters Equestria was the most standard: It was a Demiplane with a single geocentric system and no planar connections to speak of. There were ways to get somewhere in Equestria (Tartarus was a sink of evil planar energy that went TO Tartarus, which is why all ponies are good-aligned, as they get the evil sucked out of themselves), but no one really bothered: Equestria was filled with ambient magic anyway, no need to draw in more. Teleportation and stuff is funky, but that's not the point.

My character was a changeling and one of the few actually interested in other worlds and, after studying Tartarus and crossreferencing some info, planes, which came into play when he was shot down by Rainbow Dash. Normal characters would move on. Mine didn't and went instead full revenge. He didn't kill her on the spot for doing that to him, he had other plans. That plan was as follows: He would go to a different plane, enter the related prime material plane from there and level up. Then he used a Ring of Three Wishes and burnt them all up to summon one of the Dark Eight (the Pitfiend Commanders of the Nine Hells). The moment the Pitfiend appears, he's hit with a Disjunction, Dominated and Mindraped in short order. My character makes him believe that he's part of a holy conspiracy against Asmodeus and he's his superior on the mission. Then my character makes a pact certain with him, kills himself and, as soon as he was finished in the Maggot Pit, get's promoted by his "co-conspirator" into Pitfiend status and recollects his memory via third-party mindrape. Then he does as Pitfiends do, betrays the poor sucker and takes his place as a general of hell.

Then he goes back to Equestria and creates a sentient item that has no purpose but to charm the person picking it up and making it murder as many people as possible while not only collecting their souls and transfering them over, but also to saturate the souls with infernal energies, changing their alignment in the process (it was thus a cursed item). It's here where the fact comes in that, assuming the mirror isn't crossed (like in Sunset's case), every world has a counterpart (every world has a Dash, a Twilight and a Tirek, for example). The item, once made, thus slowly starts to create a small "ripple" that spawns a similar item across the mirrorworlds (assuming it's not removed fast enough). So the soul collecting starts. Sure, not all worlds are magical or work the same way, so a lot of "copies" wound up deformed or useless, but given the infinite number of Equestrias, that was pretty much irrelevant. Every item just got a few souls by itself, but the final number was staggering.

Three years later, the gambit paid off and he had enough souls to release them into hell to get into the final phase of his revenge. Here is the part where this plan could've failed: He "stole" souls from other world, making the other HELLS loose these souls, so the devils over on the OTHER side were pretty obviously angry. However, nothing directly states that the souls need to come from a devil that uses the respective hell, as the crystal mirrors are, at least so far, the only thing that can reliable allow someone to travel through the plane of shadows well enough to land in another reality.

So my character goes to court against the other hells. It was structured like all Hellish Trials in D&D are structured: Three checks, win two and you win the trial. Stuff was stacked against the poor changeling from the very beginning. Had to win a trial against what amounted to another Asmodeus, and while the judge had been bribed by my character to ensure better results, the Asmodeus did the same, meaning my character was at a huge disadvantage. My DM actual got me into a roll20 session to roll the dice for my backstory and do the math with me.

Now here's the thing: A sentient item get's it's own actions, so if it has a Spell-like ability, it can use that ability to help it's owner. The spell-like ability this one had? Surge of Fortune.

Natural 20.
Natural 20.
Natural 20.

The opponent couldn't just take 10 anymore. He had to roll a 12 or higher to beat my checks.

Mirror-Asmodeus rolled a 14.
Then a 7.
...And then a 1.

What happened afterwards? Well, the souls were processed, my character got ownership of the resulting Lemures (as a General of Hell). We are talking about more Lemures than most prime material planes have inhabitants. It was time for the next phase: He makes a pact with a Far Realm entity. It was somewhat of an arranged marriage: "You become my wife, I preset a body and personality for you that I like and in return, you get to seperate the soulstuffs from these outsiders, consume it and will never suffer hunger again."

Remember how I said every world has a counterpart? Well, since the item was made in my characters Equestria, said item was entirely unknown there due to him keeping it locked up. Also, I made a second Rainbow and didn't want two of those running around everywhere. The ponies didn't know what hit them: Suddenly a monsterous RD-lookalike entered Equestria and started tearing ponies to shreds. There was hardly a fight: Alicorns are nice and all, but they fail against your run-of-the-mill Antimagic Field. The RD that dumped my character got to watch as her friends were killed (with an explicit request to make it slow) and the last thing she knew was that she'd been beaten, skinned alive and eaten by another her... And that it was all her own damn fault.

But wait! It get's better! My characters Equestria has this nice feature that it's timeline isn't a line, but a circle! How this works? Well, the souls of that Equestria never actually leave Equestria, but get reincarnated as their old selves whenever the time is right, existing as a source of magical energy the entire time. Unless, of course, if their soul is trapped or otherwise gone, in which case they are simply written out of the world. Unless someone did something to alter that. Like my characters wife did. The point is: Instead of being consumed entirely, RD get's to feel a body that is nearly entirely identical to hers get screwed by the creature she hates the most while she's in it AND get's to see all her friends die in a torturous manner everytime the cycle is due to reset.

At the time the game actually starts, it's cycle 37 in his world. My character's been reincarnated via spells, so he get's to start at level 1 like everyone else, and his "Cohort" is, for all the other players know, simply a cute little Rainbow Pony with blood red eyes...

The moral of the story: Backstories can be freaking amazing if you invest time and care into them. Also, don't go out of your way to hurt a psychopath. The result of doing so will almost always vary from what you actually wanted, even if it'll be exactly what you asked for.
Freelance 1st Apr 2017, 2:31 AM edit delete reply
Actually, I believe the moral of the story is, if you hurt a psychopath, do it in a way that he's never gonna get back up ever again.
Registered 1st Apr 2017, 4:53 PM edit delete reply
True Freelance, it's somewhere between this or that^^
Digo Dragon 31st Mar 2017, 5:01 AM edit delete reply
Digo Dragon
Eh, I've not had a dire situation where I had to pull such a long shot. Not a successful one that I can remember anyway. I was usually the DM, and my players didn't take long shots. They usually either try to find another option or just give up on the task.

Some heroes. :3
Shchenya 1st Apr 2017, 4:14 AM edit delete reply
I was GM for one of these moments.

Post apocalyptic game, player with an air rifle vs an improvised tank made from an armoured semi-cab. Five 20s in a row and he's shot the driver in the eye, through the vision slit, causing it to swerve hard. Four critical fails after on behalf of diver and whole thing explodes as it's upside down and on fire with the ammo cooking off...
terrycloth 30th Mar 2017, 10:54 AM edit delete reply
Five in the stands, plus one that was competing. So there are at least six identical Derpy twins.

...that was how I resolved the name issue in one of the fanfics I wrote. Rainbow Dash recruited Ditzy and Derpy both to help her with a project.
Digo Dragon 31st Mar 2017, 4:56 AM edit delete reply
Digo Dragon
And the other four? ;)
terrycloth 31st Mar 2017, 11:00 AM edit delete reply
Bubbles, Muffins, and the other two live in Cloudsdale so they weren't around. q:3
Evilbob 30th Mar 2017, 11:54 AM edit delete reply
Well. We all know what's happening next, right? There's going to be two or three consecutive nat 20s in a row.

That explanation would fit in particularly well with a particular sub-fandom's view of her being a Companion, lol.
Luminous Lead 30th Mar 2017, 12:46 PM edit delete reply
Probably only actually needs one critical success, if she can successfully roleplay/cite the cutie mark and element of loyalty.
Rokas 30th Mar 2017, 6:12 PM edit delete reply
She's a tall, androgynous alien with dubious motives and designs on the earth?
Referee 30th Mar 2017, 1:06 PM edit delete reply
Well, we all know what happened and it's MLP anyway... but the standard ending in a situation like this would be:
- Cut to black
- Loud thump
- Roll credits
Ishidan 30th Mar 2017, 3:33 PM That turn edit delete reply
"Natural 20 again! Woo! Caught all four of them!"
"Ok, you now have Rarity by the hooves anf all three Wonderbolts slung over your a screaming vertical powerdive. All five of you are going to crater in."
"Hard pull up, haha! Nat 20 again!"
"Calculating G forces...your Barbarian CON keeps you from blacking out, but Rarity's arms rip from her shoulders and her limbless torso gets flung into the trees. That's only the second thing you notice, though. The first is the cracking noise as the Wonderbolt over your shoulders pulls a Gwen Stacy, her oversized head snapping her spine."
Rokas 30th Mar 2017, 6:17 PM edit delete reply
AKA the "Film School Student Ending"
Digo Dragon 31st Mar 2017, 4:57 AM edit delete reply
Digo Dragon
Pffft, yeah sounds about right. XD
Rokas 30th Mar 2017, 6:23 PM edit delete reply

Cue Guile's Theme Song.
Spoony Viking 1st Apr 2017, 5:05 AM edit delete reply
Hmmm. I think this GM is a bit too free with his decisions sometimes. First, there was the "You can't roll either too high or too low" moment, now there's this "You'll need to roll 2 or 3 natural twenties in a row regardless of your skill level".